Quick Lunch: Deviled Avocado

I just made Raw on 10‘s Deviled Avocados for a superquick lunch. I have to admit, the first time I saw this recipe, I thought it was kind of weird. But it lurked in the back of my mind for a while and I finally got the courage to make it today. I’m glad I did.. it was yum! I give it 3.5/5 Happy Monkeys, only because I didn’t have all the raw ingredients and had to sub some veganaise. I’m sure that with the original macadamia mayo instead it would be 4/5 Happy Monkeys.

Deviled Avocados
from Raw on 10

Ingredients:
1/3 tablespoon macadamia mayo* (or other mayo)
1 avocado
1/3 tablespoon mustard
1/3 teaspoon paprika
salt and pepper

*macadamia mayo recipe is provided at the end of this post

Directions:

Mash avocado with a fork. Add the rest of the ingredients and mix. I have to admit, I didn’t measure anything. I just squirted it in and mixed it together. As you can see in the photo, I ate this scooped onto raw tomato slices. I also ate it on some crackers. Both ways hit the spot – I was starving!

Next time: This was good but because I used veganaise and Annie’s organic mustard, it felt a little too unhealthy. I would like to try a raw version using raw almond mayo. Macadamia nuts are way too expensive and unavailable to me here but I’ve made some raw almond mayo before that is pretty good. Also I’d like to try using mustard powder and apple cider vinegar instead of pre-made mustard.

Macadamia mayo
from Raw on 10

Ingredients:
1/2 cup macadamia nuts
1/2 cup water
1/4 teaspoon salt

Directions:
Blend the macadamia nuts, water, and salt until smooth and creamy, which may take a minute or two. A personal or bullet type blender can be used for this. I made this in the morning and used a tablespoon of it for the deviled avos and set aside the rest to use for this cucumber ranch dressing.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

