Yum Yum! Raw “Pizza Supreme”

Raw Pizza Supreme

I love this recipe for Raw Pizza Supreme from naomipoe in the Raw Freedom Community forums!  It was my first time attempting any raw food with buckwheat and it was much easier than I expected.  After reading all the posts and links in this thread, I found out that you only have to soak the buckwheat for 30 minutes! No sprouting required!  Thus, buckwheat is actually easier, not to mention cheaper, than using nuts as a base.  The only unfortunate part is that my tummy didn’t react well to the buckwheat.  I am learning more and more that it is just not gluten that I react too, but most grains too.  Even though buckwheat isn’t officially a grain, it still set me off 😦 It’s too bad because I really liked both making and eating this crust.

This recipe would have gotten a 5/5 Happy Monkeys but I had to downgrade it since it upset my stomach.  It still gets a 4/5 Happy Monkeys because of how tasty it is but next time I will try it with a buckwheat-free almond-based crust.

Buckwheat Crust
from naomipoe in the Raw Freedom Community forums

1 c buckwheat, soaked for 30 minutes, then rinsed and drained
3/4 c sundried tomatoes, soaked
1 avocado
1 small onion
1 tsp sea salt
1c flaxmeal
I also added 1 tsp each of oregano, basil and thyme

Process the buckwheat, tomatoes, avocado, onion, sea salt and spices until smooth.

Remove to a bowl and add the flaxmeal. Spread on two Teflexx sheets until about 1/8-1/4 inch thick. Score into slices and dehydrate for 3 hours. Flip the slices, turn heat to 95 degrees and dehydrate about another 10 hours.

My notes: wow this is a sticky, hard to manipulate batter.  What I ended up doing is using putting one Teflexx sheet on top, making a Teflexx batter sandwhich if you will, and using it to help smooth the batter out.  Of course, I just found out that Teflexx is so named because it is covered in Teflon, so I won’t be using those in the future!  Next time I’ll have to try out parchment paper, natural wax paper or the new Tribest Sedona sheets, as well as an almond-based crust.

Sausage
from naomipoe in the Raw Freedom Community forums

2 Medjool dates, pitted (I only used 1/2 a date and it was perfect)
1 c walnuts, soaked, rinsed and drained
1/2 tsp fennel
pinch crushed red pepper
tiny pinch ground red pepper
1/4 tsp basil
1/4 tsp oregano
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper

Process the walnuts till chopped. Add everything else, including dates, and process until it comes together but still has texture.

My notes: I actually made a double batch by accident but it was a perfect amount for five sausage filled slices (eaten over 3 days). The sausage is sooo yummy! I did only use 1/4 the amount of dates required but it definitely adds a nice sweetness. The spices are amazing.

Some Salsa Finta tomato sauce
Some delish raw cashew cheese

To make the pizzas:
Assemble:
Crust
Tomato Sauce
Cashew Cheese
Sausage
Chopped onion
Chopped red pepper

Dehydrate at 110 degrees for about an hour or until warm (helps everything meld together and become warm and yummy!)

My notes: I used the tomato sauce from Russell JamesSalsa Finta, which I loooove, and my own delish raw cashew cheese which I posted on this site last year.  But the original forum post comes with its own recipes which I would like to try one day too.

The original recipes from the Raw Freedom post are:

Pizza Sauce
1/2 c sundried tomatoes, soaked (save the soak water)
1 tsp oregano
1 very small clove garlic, minced
1/2 tsp basil

Blend together with just enough soakwater to make a thick sauce.

Mozzarella
1 c almonds, soaked
2 tsp tahini
1 tbsp lemon
1/2 tsp nama shoyu/gf soy sauce

Blend together till smooth and let sit in fridge overnight

Leave a comment

Filed under 4/5 Happy Monkeys, Anti-Candida Diet, Dairy-Free, Gluten-Free, Lunch, Raw, Sauce/Dip, Sugar-Free, Vegan, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

