Delish Raw Cashew Cheese

So awesome.  I’ve made this a few times now and it is fantastic every time.  I just wish it would last a little longer, because it is always gone so soon!

A combo of Italian Pizza Cheese from Choosing Raw and Raw Food, Real World’s filling for their Red Beet Ravioli

1 cup cashews, soaked 2 hours
Juice of 1 lemon
1 tsp nutritional yeast
1 tbsp finely chopped leeks (any onion will probably do fine)
handful basil
a few sun-dried tomatoes (optional)
salt and pepper to taste
water as needed

I also put in white miso but I wouldn’t do that again unless I was going for a sweet dessert ricotta-type of cheese.

This was even more fantastic after a day in the fridge letting the flavors meld.  It seriously reminds me of a creamy, herby cheese I used to eat long ago called Boursin.  For lunch today, I seriously ate four pieces of “pizza” topped with this delicious cheese, fresh tomatoes and dill.  It was to die for.  Definite 5/5 happy monkeys.  Can’t wait to make it again.

Next time: I’d also like to try wrapping it in a nut bag and letting it sit out for a day to see how that goes.

Leave a comment

Filed under 5/5 Happy Monkeys!, Dairy-Free, Gluten-Free, Grain-Free, Needs Photo, Raw, Sauce/Dip, Sugar-Free, Vegan, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

