Raw Marinated Kale Salad

OK.  Here’s the deal.  I know I haven’t posted anything new in about a millennium.  I’m still here, I’m still cooking (or uncooking), tasting and reviewing recipes.  I have so many drafts started but I haven’t posted them because either I can’t find my photos or don’t have the time to write a detailed description.  So here’s my new plan: instead of waiting to post my recipe reviews until they are complete, I’m just going to post what I’ve got.  They may be short.  They may be picture-less.  But at least they will contain the recipe and my basic thoughts on it, such as whether I think it is good enough to make again.

So in that mind-set, here’s a post I wrote back in Dec 2009, but haven’t posted because I have no idea where the  pics went.  I have made this many times since then, but still have no photos for some reason.  But it is delicious, so I want to share it with you:

This was a surprising hit at our friend’s holiday potluck.  I made it at the last minute because I was desperately craving kale.  I didn’t think anyone else would want it, but I didn’t care because I just wanted it for me.  I had also made sweet potato casserole to share so this was just a freebie.  But surprisingly enough, everyone loved it and the big bowl of it was gone in a heartbeat.

I’ve tried another raw kale salad before that I thought was no good, but this recipe is much better.  I got it from Raw Sacramento although it’s originally from Elaina’s Pure Joy Kitchen Recipe Book.  It gets 5/5 happy monkeys.

Ingredients:

– 1 bunch fresh dinosaur (lacinato) kale, stems removed and ripped into bite sized pieces (although I usually don’t bother removing the stems unless I’m trying to impress)
– 1/4 shallot, chopped very small
– 1 medium green or yellow zucchini, spiralized
– Handful homegrown mung bean sprouts, chopped in thirds
– 2 tomatoes, chopped
– 2 medium avocados, chunked (add at end / right before serving)

– 3/4 cup flax oil
– 1/2 cup lemon juice
– 1 tsp. sea salt
– 1/8 tsp. cayenne pepper (add after massaging the salad)
– 1 clove garlic, crushed

Directions:

I just throw everything together in a bowl but if you want to be fancy, here are the official directions:

Pour the first 3 ingredients of the marinade right onto the torn kale leaves. Use your hands to massage and squeeze the kale. This will work the salt and lemon in and help to make the kale tender. Continue to knead the salad until it begins to soften.

Add the avocado and cayenne pepper and garlic. Mix well and serve.

Note:  This says it will last for 3 or 4 days in the refrigerator.  Some people like it better after a day or so but I like it best right away.

Leave a comment

Filed under 4/5 Happy Monkeys, Anti-Candida Diet, Dairy-Free, Dinner, Gluten-Free, Grain-Free, Lunch, Needs Photo, Raw, Salad, Side Dish, Sugar-Free, Vegan, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

