Raw Sweet Potato Latkes

One of my favorite things, if not my favorite thing, about the holidays is latkes.  It’s definitely a toss-up for the top spot between latkes and presents.

Since this is my first year raw, I was worried about missing latkes during the holiday season. But not to worry, the interweb came to the rescue!  This yummy recipe for sweet potato latkes from Melissa at the Birch Center satisfied my latke craving.  Combined with raw applesauce and “sour cream,” they were heaven.  Plain, these might be a 3/5 happy monkeys, but with these delectable toppings, they skyrocket right to the top — 5/5 happy monkeys! I gobbled up every last one of them.  Well, I let my husband have two or three.

Note: I adjusted the proportions quite a bit.  It wanted to make a big batch so I used 3 sweet potatoes.  But it seemed too oniony, so I only doubled the onions.  Don’t really remember how much I used of the other ingredients.. hmmm.. need to pay better attention!

Ingredients:

1 large sweet potato (the orange kind), grated
3/4 large onion, grated
1 clove garlic, crushed
1 Tbsp tamari
2 Tbsp olive oil
1/4 cup ground flax seed (to hold it all together.)
chili powder and/or paprika and/or black pepper (I used all three.. I think I overspiced it a bit)

Directions:

Mix ingredients together, and adjust seasoning.  Form into latke shapes (potato pancakes – round and flattened) and dehydrate on 105 degrees for 10 – 12 hours.  Serve with applesauce and raw “sour cream” (recipes below).

Note for next time: I couldn’t figure out if I liked these better really crispy or more soft in the center.  Will have to try both ways again!

Raw Apple Sauce
From Alyssa Cohen’s book “Living on Live Food”

Ingredients:

4 apples
2 Tbsp honey
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp vanilla

Directions:

Core/de-seed apples then throw all ingredients in the vita-mix and blend away!

Note: I’ve also made this with half pears and half apples, but I reduced the honey to 1/2 Tbsp because the pears were so sweet!

Raw Sunflower Seed “Sour Cream”

There are a lot of raw sour cream recipes out there but I decided to go with this one from Raw Food Wisdom because I had a glut of sunflower seeds on my hands and I didn’t feel like taking the time to soak cashews.

Ingredients:

1 cup sunflower seeds
1 cup water
4 tbsp. lemon juice
1 garlic clove, pressed
¾ tsp onion powder (I used some leeks instead)
¾ tsp salt

Directions:

Blend all ingredients together in a food processor or blender until smooth. If consistency is too thick, you can simply add a bit more water.

Side Note:  In my searching, I came across this recipe for Raw Tacos.  It looks sooo good — I can’t wait to try it!

Leave a comment

Filed under 5/5 Happy Monkeys!, Breakfast, Dairy-Free, Dinner, Gluten-Free, Grain-Free, Lunch, Raw, Sauce/Dip, Sugar-Free, Vegan, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

