Happy Boxing Day, Everyone!

I hope everyone is having a wonderful and fantabulous holiday season!  I know I am. 🙂

I have to apologize for being out of touch over the past month, but things have been so busy here with the holiday season.  Not to mention a two-week business trip/vacation to Australia in the middle of everything.  The vacation part was awesome; the business part, not so much.  Here’s a picture of me holding a Koala at this cool place on Kangaroo Island called Paul’s Place.

The best part of my work week in Adelaide was definitely a Raw Food class held by Remedy of Raw Blessings with the help of her sister Kristy.  They are both such wonderful, caring people and I want to thank them so much for helping me with my raw diet while traveling halfway across the world.  It was so lovely to have a bite of “gourmet” raw food during my stay — Remedy made us raw pizza and raw strawberry cheesecake during the class — double YUM!  But even after the class, they went out of their way to help me out.  Kristy and her partner Sven opened their (incredibly gorgeous) home to me and let me use their blender to make green smoothies for the week.  What a blessing!  One thing I really love about raw food is that it’s not just a diet, it’s a community, and Remedy and Kristy are two outstanding examples of how the raw food community is a family that comes together to support each other.  Thank you both again!!

Anyway, back to the recipes, or rather, lack therof.  Just because I haven’t been posting doesn’t mean I have been cooking — I mean, UNcooking.  I’ve been making lots and lots of raw food goodies and I can’t wait to share them with everyone.  I’ll post them up as soon as I can: Raw Pumpkin Pie with Vanilla Cream, Raw Waldorf Salad, Raw Mushroom Leek Tart, Raw Sweet Potato Latkes with Applesauce and Sour Cream, Raw Herbed Pecan Stuffing, Raw Cranberry Sauce, Raw Miso Gravy, Raw Candied Yams, and more… Wow, what a list! As you can see, it was a delicious and satisfying raw holiday season this year!

The best thing about it was that I learned that not only can I enjoy the holidays on a raw food diet without feeling deprived, but that they can be an exciting, fulfilling and delicious time of year!  I thought I would have feelings of, ‘well, since it is the holidays, I can splurge on some fried latkes, otherwise I will feel sad and deprived without them.’  But that couldn’t be further from the truth.  Instead, I feel grateful that I’ve gotten to make and enjoy so many delicious raw foods over the past month of so.  The holidays have always been a special time that I look forward to all year round because of the unique foods we make then that we don’t make the rest of the year.  I think this is just as true with a raw diet.  As you can see, I’ve already started my list of festive holiday treats that I can’t wait to make again next year!

This holiday season gets 5/5 happy monkeys for sure!

Leave a comment

Filed under 5/5 Happy Monkeys!, Anti-Candida Diet, Dairy-Free, Gluten-Free, Grain-Free, Journal, Raw, Sugar-Free, Vegan, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

