Raw “Fried Rice”

Raw Fried Rice

This is a fantastic recipe from the Accidental Vegetarian.   It reminds me nicely of Chinese food and rice, two things I eat rarely these days. And of course, it’s much healthier than both.

It’s a great way to use cauliflower, although I must note it also tastes delicious without the cauliflower.  Possibly even better.  Raw cauliflower has a bit of a bitter taste that I don’t like sometimes, so I like to make it substituting more peas for the cauliflower. I forgot how much I loved frozen peas. When I was a kid, I used to eat them straight out of the bag, a delicious frozen snack. For this though, I did defrost them.

I did modify the original recipe a little bit. I didn’t have sunflower seeds, even though I thought I did, so I used chopped almonds instead.  I also didn’t have lemongrass but it was delicious anyway. Yum! I give this a 4.5/5 happy monkeys!

Of course, the key to the deliciousness is the sesame oil and the not-raw tamari.. eek, cheating!

Ingredients:

* 1 head of cauliflower
* 1 ten ounce package peas, thawed, or fresh peas
* 2 tablespoons onion
* 2 cloves garlic
* ¼ cup cilantro or flat leafed parsley
* 1 inch of lemongrass
* 3 tablespoons sesame oil
* 2 teaspoons ginger, grated
* Tamari to taste
* 1 cup crushed almonds

Directions:

Pulse the cauliflower, onion, garlic, ginger, lemongrass, and cilantro in the food processor until the cauliflower looks like rice . Place in a bowl and add the peas and almonds. Drizzle with sesame oil and tamari.

The Accidental Vegetarian also says that you can warm this recipe up by heating on very low heat in a saucepan, stirring constantly until just warm to the touch, or placing in dehydrator for 30 minutes. I didn’t try this because 1) I wasn’t sure how “raw” that would be, and 2) I was hungry and didn’t want to wait!

Leave a comment

Filed under 4/5 Happy Monkeys, Anti-Candida Diet, Cheating, Dairy-Free, Dinner, Gluten-Free, Grain-Free, Lunch, Raw, Sugar-Free, Vegan, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

