Raw “Mashed Potatoes and Gravy”

Raw "Mashed Potatos and Gravy"

I’ve been meaning to try this recipe from Alyssa Cohen’s Living on Live Food book for a while.  The first time I tried to make it, I soaked the cashews and then they went bad in the fridge before I got around to actually making the recipe.  It was pretty good, although after eating a few servings of it for a few meals in a row, it outgrew its welcome pretty quickly. My husband said the same thing, except for him it happened within one bowl–the first bite tasted pretty good, but after a while, he didn’t want to finish it.  I give it 3/5 happy monkeys.  I would make it again, if only for a change of pace.

I adapted the proportions from the original recipe because the consistency didn’t seem right as written. It was still a little spicy though so I’d probably decrease the onion next time.

Ingredients:

“Mashed Potatoes”

1 cup soaked cashews
1/2 cup water
3/4 head cauliflower
2 cloves garlic
1/8 medium onion
1 tsp olive oil
sea salt and black pepper to taste

Mushroom “Gravy”

1 cup crimini mushrooms
2 tbsp tamari
1 tbsp water
1 small clove garlic
1/2 tspn sage
sea salt and black pepper to taste
I also added some olive oil and cashews for creaminess, but I’m not sure they’re needed

Directions:

1. Blend all “mashed potato” ingredients in a food processor.
2. Blend all “gravy” ingredients in a food processor.
3. Pour gravy over mashed potatoes.

Leave a comment

Filed under 3/5 Happy Monkeys, Dairy-Free, Dinner, Gluten-Free, Grain-Free, Lunch, Raw, Sugar-Free, Vegan, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

