Fennel and Parsley Salad

Raw Fennel and Parsley Salad

Mmmm.. just finished a big bowl of Fennel and Parsley Salad.  Delicious!  Yet another quick and easy food-processor salad winner.  I whipped this up this morning before I left for work and it made a fantastic lunch and afternoon snack.  It’s from Alyssa Cohen’s book Living on Live Food, and her note next to it reads something along the lines of:  “I know fennel’s not your favorite but just try it….”  I don’t know what’s she’s talking about – this is delicious.  The fennel has a distinctive and fun flavor which is complemented by the parsley.  Of course, it doesn’t hurt that I’m practically addicted to parsley (must be the arsenic in it ;)).   I should also note that I added a bunch more parsley than the original recipe called for and adjusted the proportions of everything a bit, mostly because I’m too lazy to measure.

Ingredients:

1 bulb fennel, with the stems and leaves cut off
2 handfuls parsley
Juice of 1 lemon
2 tablespoons minced onion
1 garlic clove
Grapeseed oil, sea salt and black pepper to taste

Directions:

Using the slicing blade in the food processor, slice the fennel thinly.  Remove and place aside.  Then using the regular chopping blade, chop up the onion, garlic and parsley.  Add to fennel, then pour on lemon juice and oil.  Add sea salt & black pepper to taste.  Mix and enjoy.  The original recipe says to chill for at least 30 minutes but I thought it was delicious right away too.

I give this a strong 4/5 happy monkeys.  I’ll definitely be making it again.

Leave a comment

Filed under 4/5 Happy Monkeys, Anti-Candida Diet, Dairy-Free, Gluten-Free, Grain-Free, Lunch, Raw, Salad, Sugar-Free, Vegan, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

