Raw Rock Climbing

Raw Beet Salad in Action
This past weekend, we had a fantastic time camping and rock climbing at Joshua Tree National Park.  At first I was a little hesitant about camping out and still being able to eat the fresh foods that I’ve gotten used to, but with a little preparation, it was super easy to stay raw the whole time.  I give this camping experience 5/5 happy monkeys.

Before we left, I spent an entire evening blending 3 batches of green smoothies (lettuce, cucumber, hemp seeds, kelp flakes, lemon and parsley/dill) and a big batch of gazpacho.  Then I froze them individually in 1.5 liter empty water bottles.  I also whipped up a double batch of raw beet salad, minus the cabbage because even without it, it filled my food processor to the brim (shown above).  I also brought a selection of tomatoes, red peppers, avocados, cucumbers, and zucchini, mostly in pairs.  For condiments, I brought a small bottle of olive oil, a couple lemons and a sea salt/seaweed/gomasio-type seasoning that I made myself.

Breakfast was supposed to be green smoothies, but they were still very frozen, so one day I had leftovers  for breakfast and one morning I had gazpacho while I waited for the smoothies to defrost, and then I just drank the green smoothies throughout the day.

Lunch both days was raw beet salad with some nuts as a chaser.

Snacks were nuts and a couple raw bars – my absolute fave is the Go Raw Live Pumpkin Bar.  I also munched on whole red peppers and cucumbers.

For dinner the first night I made a simple salad of spinach, cucumber, tomato, avocado, dill with a olive oil/lemon/sea salt dressing.  For dinner the second night I had avocado, tomato and shallot on raw crackers.  This was the first time I had ever had fresh shallot – boy, is it potent!  Good, but a little goes a long way.

For dessert I had a couple of raw cinnamon raison crackers.  Yum.

Overall, I actually brought too much food.  I have an entire 1.5 liter bottle of gazpacho left over and about two more bowls of beet salad, not to mention a bunch of spinach, dill and two zucchinis.  Next time I could probably get away with less.  It was so much fun we’re already planning the next trip!

2 Comments

Filed under Dairy-Free, Gluten-Free, Grain-Free, Journal, Raw, Sugar-Free, Vegan, Vegetarian

2 responses to “Raw Rock Climbing

  1. lorisa

    sounds like a great time. where is your recipe for beet salad? Lorisa

  2. No Food Dietician

    Thanks, it was fantastic! I hope we get to go again before we leave California. The beet salad recipe is here:

    https://nofooddiet.wordpress.com/2009/10/03/raw-beet-salad/

Leave a Reply

