Hummus!

Hummus

I love hummus.  This time I adapted a recipe from the Vita-Mix recipe book which calls for canned chickpeas.  I’ve made it raw before but honestly, raw chickpeas are a bit too starchy for me, even soaked and sprouted.  I like the creaminess of a cooked hummus.   Doth the lady protest too much?  Perhaps.  I do feel a little guilty for eating cooked food, but I’m trying not to psych myself out too much.  It’s yummy and so far my tummy isn’t complaining.

Ingredients:

– 2 cans chickpeas (garbanzo beans), one drained, one not drained
– 4 tbsp raw sesame seeds
– half a lemon, peeled
– a clove of garlic
– 1/4 cup olive oil
– 1/4 tsp cumin
– 1/4 tsp sea salt
– black pepper and paprika to taste

Directions:

Blend everything together in a Vita-Mix or food processor. I don’t recommend using a regular blender because it’s pretty thick.

I ate this garnished with flax oil and Spice Hunter Garlic Bread seasoning.  Yum!

Next time: use more garlic, sesame seeds, olive oil and salt. This hummus was dominated by the chickpea flavor (as opposed to the hummus I made with the recipe on the tahini jar before, which was too tahini-ey) and could use some balance.  I give this version of hummus a 4/5 happy monkeys because I love hummus but I think I could tinker with this recipe to make it even yummier.  I have in my mind the memory of a hummus wrap from a sandwich shop in Falmouth MA that I had in 2006 – that is my gold standard that I am trying to reach.  I don’t know what they did to create their hummus but it was phenomenal!

Leave a comment

Filed under 4/5 Happy Monkeys, Anti-Candida Diet, Cheating, Dairy-Free, Gluten-Free, Grain-Free, Sauce/Dip, Snack, Sugar-Free, Vegan, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

