Raw Butternut Squash Soup

Raw Butternut Soup

Now that it’s fall, I bought a butternut squash and decided to try my first raw squash recipe.  However, I sure didn’t pick the right one.  I found this soup by Frederic Patenaude at the Sunny Raw Kitchen here and tried it out.  I was pretty disappointed–I  give this a 1/5 happy monkeys.  I wouldn’t even bother eating it if I wasn’t so hungry.  I only managed to eat one bowl and then I threw the rest out.  What a waste 😦

Ingredients:

1 and 1/2 cups water
2 cups butternut squash, diced
4 ribs of celery
2 tablespoons tahini
2 green onions
½ cup fresh basil
½ teaspoon sea salt
½ teaspoon paprika

Directions:

Blend the water and half of the butternut squash in a Vita-Mix.  Add progressively the other half as well as the rest of the ingredients and blend.

Next time: Try a better butternut squash recipe: Choosing Raw’s “Best Soup Ever”, the Sunny Raw Kitchen’s Pumpkin Spice Muffins,  The Daily Raw’s Pesto-stuffed Butternut Squash with White Sauce or Ani Phyo’s Walnut Cranberry Squash Rice.  I almost made the Squash Rice today but didn’t have any cranberries so I went with this recipe. Oops.

1 Comment

Filed under 1/5 Happy Monkeys, Anti-Candida Diet, Dairy-Free, Dinner, Gluten-Free, Grain-Free, Lunch, Raw, Soup, Sugar-Free, Vegan, Vegetarian

One response to “Raw Butternut Squash Soup

  1. Pingback: Raw Butternut Squash Ravioli « The No Food Diet

Leave a Reply

