Raw Pesto-Stuffed Mushrooms

Raw Pesto-Stuffed Mushroom

This recipe is what convinced me to buy Alissa Cohen’s Living on Live Food book, so I was pretty excited to try it.  These mushrooms were so yummy and warm when they came out of the dehydrator, so I couldn’t help myself–I ate most of them standing right there on the counter.  You can tell I liked them a lot since there was only one tiny little mushroom left to take a picture of!  These get a 5/5 happy monkeys, although the pesto is so rich I wouldn’t recommend eating them all at once!

Ingredients:

– 18-22 crimini mushrooms, washed and stemmed
– 1 cup walnuts
– 1/2 cup pine nuts
– 2 cups basil
– 1/2 cup olive oil
– 3 cloves garlic
– 1/2 tsp sea salt

Directions:

Wash and stem mushrooms. Chop the stems and set aside. Mix all remaining ingredients in a Vita Mix or food processor to make pesto. Mix the chopped stems with the pesto. Scoop a small amount of the mixture into each mushroom cap. Dehydrate 5-6 hrs at 105 degrees or until soft, warm and juicy.

Next time: I’ll have to make a double batch so that these last more than 5 minutes!  Also, I’d like to make them in a “real” dehydrator next time.  My junky dehydrator runs mega-hot so I do wonder if these would be quite so warm and juicy in a good dehydrator.  Hopefully I’ll be able to tell after the holidays this year (hint hint).

Leave a comment

Filed under 5/5 Happy Monkeys!, Dairy-Free, Gluten-Free, Grain-Free, Raw, Side Dish, Snack, Sugar-Free, Vegan, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

