Raw Broccoli Chowder

Raw Broccoli Soup

My first raw recipe!  I mean, not counting Gazpacho, salad and such things that I normally eat anyway, but the first one that I purposely made raw.  I based this on a recipe from Victoria Boutenko’s book 12 Steps to Raw Foods.  I was pretty excited about my first raw soup, a creamy one based on nuts no less, that I ate it happily.  However, it either didn’t keep well or I simply realized, once my excitement died down, that it tasted pretty odd.  I haven’t finished my leftovers and I can’t say I’d make it again.  I give it a lowly 2/5 happy monkeys.

Recipe:

1 cup walnuts (could use cashews as well)
2 cups water
1/4 cup olive oil
1 cup chopped celery
1-2 cloves garlic
broccoli
sea salt & cayenne pepper to taste
paprika or parsley for garnish

Directions:

Blend one cup walnuts and one cup water until smooth. Add the rest of the ingredients except for the garnish. Blend well.

Leave a comment

Filed under 2/5 Happy Monkeys, Anti-Candida Diet, Dairy-Free, Dinner, Gluten-Free, Grain-Free, Lunch, Raw, Soup, Sugar-Free, Vegan, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

