Raw Sun Chips, aka Everybody’s Favorite Crackers

28 Sep 09 Update: I’ve upgraded these to 4/5 happy monkeys after making them again, thinner and with less onion this time, and much more delicious.  It’s probably the way they were supposed to be made in the first place.  They remind me of Sun Chips!  And just like chips, I have a hard time restraining myself from eating them all in one sitting!

Raw Sun Chips

Original 7 Aug 09 Post: This is a first – for the first time, I forgot to take a picture of the fruits of my labor! I guess I was so busy eating these crackers that I forgot to take pics!

I was looking for a cracker recipe to make with my new $5 craig’s-list dehydrator, but I didn’t have raw flax seeds so my options were a little limited.  I came across this recipe, entitled “Everybody’s Favorite Crackers,” from Victoria Boutenko.  How can you go wrong making something with that title?  It stands to reason that if they are everybody’s favorite, then they will be mine as well, as I am just one small part of everybody.

Unfortunately, I can’t say these live up to their name.  Although these crackers were delicious in an extremely oniony-kind of way, they weren’t my favorite.  Right now that distinction belongs to Go Raw’s Pizza-Flavor Flax Snax, which are absolutely amazing.  I want to reverse engineer their recipe and make them myself.  Of course, whenever I try such things it usually ends in disaster due to mismatched proportions, my incompetence, monkeys, etc. but for some reason, I still keep trying.

Since I didn’t have raw flax seeds, I did have to use a few tablespoons of roasted flax seeds, making these less than 100% raw.  I would have been more unhappy about that if my $5 dehydrator worked better.  However, since it likes to heat up to 130+ degrees, it’s unlikely anything I make in it is truly raw anyway.

Ingredients:

1 cup soaked sunflower seeds
1 cup soaked walnuts
1 cup soaked almonds
1 tomato
1 cup red onion (chopped)
3 tablespoons flaxseed
3 teaspoons sesame seeds (original recipe calls for cumin seeds, but I didn’t have it)
2 teaspoons salt

Directions:

Mix in food processor until creamy.  Spread thinly on parchment paper or TefIon sheets.  Cut into squares with a pizza cutter. They will be easier to break into pieces when dry.

Dehydrate for about 15 to 20 hours.

Rating: 3/5 happy monkeys

Next time: a tad less onion; raw flax; use a decent dehydrator with temperature control, take pic!

Leave a comment

Filed under 4/5 Happy Monkeys, Anti-Candida Diet, Dairy-Free, Gluten-Free, Grain-Free, Raw, Snack, Sugar-Free, Vegan, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

