Three-Bean Salad

Three Bean Salad

This is one of our favorite recipes.  It comes from a book called Favorite Vegetarian Dishes published by Paragon. We make it all the time, especially for cook-outs, picnics and traveling.  When I take long international flights (as I often do), I make a large batch of this and take it on the plane. I’ve learned my lesson that if I don’t, the airlines usually forget my non-dairy vegetarian meal and I end up going hungry.  This keeps real well and feeds me until I can get to a grocery store in whichever country I happen to land in.

Ingredients:

– 3 tbsp olive oil
– 1 tbsp lemon juice
– 1 tbsp tomato paste
– 1 tbsp chopped chives
– 6 oz green beans
– 1 can white beans, drained and rinsed*
– 1 can red kidney beans, drained and rinsed
– 2 tomatoes, chopped
– 4 scallions, chopped
– salt and pepper to taste

* The white beans can be any kind – I like butter or great northern, but the original recipe calls for soy beans. In fact, we often make this with whatever beans we happen to have on hand. Sometimes it even ends up being a four bean salad!

Also, the original recipe calls for these ingredients, which I leave out but my husband adds for his portion:

– 4.5 oz feta cheese, cubed
– 1 tbsp light malt vinegar

For my part, I like mine with a ton of gomasio (sesame seeds, salt & seaweed) and sometimes some cubed tofu to stand in for the feta cheese.

Directions:

– Mix together olive oil, lemon juice, tomato paste, vinegar if desired, and chives in a large bowl; whisk until well combined
– Cook the green beans in boiling, lightly salted water for 4-5 minutes, until just cooked. Drain, then rinse with cold running water. Pat or spin dry.
– Add all beans, tomato, scallions and dressing together. Add feta and tofu if desired. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

Considering how often we make and enjoy this dish, it is highly deserving of the rating of 5/5 happy monkeys.

Leave a comment

Filed under 5/5 Happy Monkeys!, Anti-Candida Diet, Dairy-Free, Gluten-Free, Grain-Free, Lunch, Sugar-Free, Vegan, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

