Berry Crumble Muffins (Grain & Dairy Free)

Blueberry Crumble Muffins

I was inspired by the Nourishing Gourmet’s Red, White and Blue Muffins, so I did my best to adapt them to be more anti-candida friendly by reducing the sugar.  They didn’t come out quite as well as I had hoped, or nearly as pretty as Kimi’s but this is still a recipe I’d like to try adapting again.

I substituted 1 tbsp agave for the 1/3 cup of honey.  Also, by accident, I used coconut butter instead of the coconut oil the recipe calls for–not a huge problem, but I wouldn’t recommend this since they are pretty dry without the honey.  I baked them for 20 min.  They came out good but a little burnt around the edges, really crumbly and stuck to the cupcake tins.

I give them a 3/5 happy monkeys for now, but I think if we can make them hold together next time, they’ll get a 4/5. 

Next time: I need to really oil the cupcake tins, maybe have paper cups and press the batter firmly together into the cups.  Also, next time I want to use fresh berries, or at least defrost the frozen ones first.  Also, I’m not sure they need any sweetener at all, to me the berries are pretty sweet by themselves.  Of course, my husband, who eats chocolate chips for breakfast, called them “a little bitter.”  It all depends on your sensitization to sugar I suppose.

Ingredients:

    1/2 cup coconut flour
    1/2 teaspoon sea salt
    1/2 teaspoon baking powder
    3 eggs, gently beaten with a fork
    1 tbsp agave
    1/3 cup of coconut butter
    1 teaspoon vanilla extract
    1 cup frozen mixed berries

Directions:

-Preheat oven to 375 degrees

-In a medium size bowl, place the coconut flour, sea salt, and baking powder. Whisk to remove any lumps.

-Melt agave and coconut butter in a small saucepan, just until melted (if you have over-heated it all, let it cool before combining it with the eggs so that it won’t curdle it. Combine wet ingredients (eggs, honey, coconut oil, vanilla), and whisk thoroughly into dry ingredients.

-Fold in berries. In papered or lightly greased muffin tins, put about 1/4 cup of batter in each muffin tin.

-Bake for 375 degrees until the muffins are lightly browned on the top and a toothpick comes out clean when poked into the middle of the muffin (20-28 minutes)

2 Comments

Filed under 3/5 Happy Monkeys, Anti-Candida Diet, Breakfast, Cheating, Dairy-Free, Gluten-Free, Grain-Free, Vegetarian

2 responses to “Berry Crumble Muffins (Grain & Dairy Free)

  1. I bet if you replaced the honey with coconut milk or another liquid, you would be happier with the results. 🙂 Coconut flour absorbs a ton of moisture, so when you took out some of the moisture with the honey and then using coconut butter instead of coconut oil, that would make them more dry, like you experienced. Try that! I bet you would like it better. 🙂 Thanks for sharing about your adaption results!

    • No Food Dietician

      Thanks Kimi! I will absolutely try that. I really appreciate your advice and the fantastic recipes on your blog!

Leave a Reply

