All-Vegetable Green Smoothie

All Veg Smoothie in the makeI loved my first green smoothies, but after four months of being sugar-free, I couldn’t really handle all that fruit. I’m really sensitive to sugar now, so they tasted overly sweet and gave me a crazy sugar rush. I was jumping and jittery for hours after drinking. So I set out to make a simple all-vegetable green smoothie. I’m quite pleased with the results. It tastes fresh and cool, and is a great way to start my morning.

Recipe:

1 large cucumber
4 lacinato kale leaves
handful frozen pepper strips (red, yellow and green)
half an avocado
juice of one lemon
few springs rosemary
teaspoon powdered ginger
3 ice cubes
cold water as needed

Throw in blender and blend away! This recipe either makes one very large smoothie or two smaller ones. It keeps in the fridge really well, so you can drink half the first day and put the rest in the fridge so breakfast is all ready for tomorrow.

I give this a 5/5 happy monkeys and can’t wait to make it again.

Next time: I think I’ll use a whole red pepper instead of frozen.  Also, I’d like to peel and de-seed the lemon then throw the whole thing in so I can get all that great pulp. I’m a big believer in blending, as opposed to juicing, so you get the benefits of the whole food. I’d also like to get a Vita-Mix so the blending is easier. Unfortunately, I don’t think my husband agrees we need to spend $500 on a new blender right now, seeing as how we already have two!

Also, Pamela Reilly at Rawvolutionary Healing has some yummy looking all-veg green smoothie recipes.  I didn’t have all the ingredients to make any of her smoothies, but hopefully I can pick some up next time I go shopping.  Check out her recipes and tips here and here.

Update: Made this with the whole red pepper and peeled lemon as I wanted to above, and it is delicious.  Without the frozen veg, you have to add more ice, maybe six cubes instead of three, because ice is what gives smoothies their essential “smoothieness.”  I also added lots and lots of powdered ginger.  I’ve had this four times now and I crave it daily.  I went camping this weekend, so I couldn’t make my morning smoothie, and boy did I miss it!

2 Comments

Filed under 5/5 Happy Monkeys!, Anti-Candida Diet, Breakfast, Dairy-Free, Gluten-Free, Grain-Free, Green Smoothies, Raw, Snack, Sugar-Free, Vegan, Vegetarian

2 responses to “All-Vegetable Green Smoothie

  1. I really like the idea of this but does it taste like a nice smoothie or a liquid dinner? loving your blog by the way, ive bookmarked loads of recipes, cant wait to try them

    • Magdalena

      To me, the lemon makes it taste like a nice refreshing drink but I can see how others might think of it as a “liquid dinner” or “blended salad.” It’s been long time since I’ve made my green smoothies this way though. Nowadays, I usually just use greens, cucumber or celery, parsley, lemon and hemp seeds. I’m so glad that you like the blog and that you are finding it useful! Enjoy the recipes!

Leave a Reply

