Gluten-Free Quinoa Cakes

Quinoa Cakes

First, let me say: YUM!

Second let me say: Allrecipes, you have failed me again.  I had lots of leftover quinoa (who knew 1 cup dry made so much!) and had it in my mind to try quinoa cakes.  Looking it up on allrecipes, I found nothing! I used to use allrecipes all the time, but since I changed my diet, I’m finding allrecipes less and less helpful.  I’ve taken to simply googling what I want and this time I found lots of great blogs to help concoct my own quinoa cakes (see for instance: Dishing Up Delight’s blog).

This is the recipe I used–it came out great!

Ingredients:

– 2 cups leftover quinoa (I had made mine wiht vegetable stock instead of water)
– 1 egg (beat first)
– 1 clove garlic
– 1 green onion, sliced thin
– 1/2 teaspoon Italian seasoning
– salt and pepper to taste
– olive oil for frying

Directions:

Mix everything together in a bowl.  Use a spoon to scoop out quinoa and use hands to form into 3-in flat patties.  Place on cookie sheet covered in tin foil.  Put uncovered cookie sheet with quinoa cakes into fridge to chill for about 15 minutes.  After chilled, heat two tablespoons of oil on a griddle over medium heat.  Carefully slide cakes into hot oil and fry until crispy.  Flip, but try not to touch them too much because they are fragile and will fall apart.  Add oil as needed.  You want to get the outside nice and crispy so that it helps hold them together.  When done, pat carefully with paper towels to remove excess oil.  Makes 6 cakes (2 servings).

Although the topping from Gourmet magazine looked delicious, I just put a dollop of pre-made Trader Joe’s bruschetta on top and they were delicious!  Double YUM!

I gave them 4/5 happy monkeys.  My husband, although he liked them and said he would eat them again, only gave them 3/5 happy monkeys because they, after all, fried in oil.  They reminded him of traditional potato latkes, which are very similar, although I think these are a bit more healthy.

Next time: I would make sure I was using high enough heat.  It took a little while to fry because I think the heat was on medium-low instead of medium (so hard to tell with a gas stove!).

1 Comment

Filed under 4/5 Happy Monkeys, Breakfast, Dairy-Free, Gluten-Free, Lunch, Sugar-Free, Vegetarian

One response to “Gluten-Free Quinoa Cakes

  1. lailablogs

    Sounds delicious .. Laila .. http://lailablogs.com

Leave a Reply

