Vegan Walnut Pesto

Vegan Walnut Pesto

I love pesto. And the best thing about pesto is that even though traditional pesto is chock-full of Parmesan cheese, you can make it without and it is just as delicious and much less allergic reaction-inducing. I think I love pesto even more with when it’s made with walnuts instead of pine nuts.

With a big container of basil in the fridge and a whole bunch of super-healthy raw/soaked/dehydrated walnuts ready to go, it was finally time to make my pesto. My friend asked me why–on this diet, what could I possibly put it on? My answer–everything! I’ve already put it on brown-rice pasta, scrambled eggs, diluted it for salad dressing, dipped in raw broccoli, made chickpea-pesto salad, and I still have lots more! The sky’s the limit with something this delicious!

Here’s what I did:

– Throw in equal amounts of walnuts and basil leaves into a food processor
– Add three cloves chopped garlic and a generous portion of salt
– Drizzle olive oil in until you feel like stopping
– Process everything together
– Scrape the sides and keep adding olive oil until you reach the pesto-ey consistency that you want.

Eat. Yum! A high 5/5 happy monkeys for this one!

Next time I think I would add more olive oil… I was trying to keep it healthy but now I find myself adding lots of olive oil whenever I put it in a dish.  Probably easier just to do up front. 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under 5/5 Happy Monkeys!, Dairy-Free, Gluten-Free, Grain-Free, Sauce/Dip, Sugar-Free, Vegan, Vegetarian

2 responses to “Vegan Walnut Pesto

  1. Anna

    So when you say equal amounts basil and walnuts, do you mean roughly by volume, without squishing the basil too much?

    I’m so excited about your blog, by the way — for one thing, the photos are beautiful!

    • No Food Dietician

      Hey there! Yeah, I’m not very good at measuring, so I did it by volume as they went into the food processor. I’m excited about the blog too! It’s a lot of fun. Matt gets most of the credit for the photos, but I think I took a few too. Talk to you soon!

Leave a Reply

