Herb Roasted Sunflower Seeds

Herb Roasted Sunflower Seeds

I was looking for a snack to have while watching The Tale of Despereaux and I came across The Nourishing Gourmet’s blog on Rosemary Roasted Pumpkin Seeds: http://www.thenourishinggourmet.com/2008/12/happy-new-years-snack-rosemary-roasted.html . I don’t recommend the movie but I definitely recommend this recipe – yum.  The movie just made me want to watch Ratatouille again.  I mean, come on, you can’t make a movie about rats and soup and not expect it to be compared to Pixar’s phenom.  And Despereaux doesn’t even begin to live up.

Which all goes to say, don’t be surprised if you see some ratatouille experimentation going on on this site in the near future.

For my herb roasted sunflower seeds, I used Kimi’s recipe except I used sunflower seeds instead of pumpkin and I didn’t have fresh rosemary on hand so I used dried.  Also, I sprinkled in a fair amount of garlic powder.  This is a yummy snack.  Next time I would up the amount of the herbs and decrease the salt a little.  I also need to figure out a way to make all the yummy seasonings stick to the seeds once they are cool.  It all seems to sink to the bottom!  Any advice?

I give it 4/5 happy monkeys.

Leave a comment

Filed under 4/5 Happy Monkeys, Dairy-Free, Gluten-Free, Grain-Free, Snack, Sugar-Free, Vegan, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

