Gluten-Free Biscuits

Gluten-Free Biscuits

These biscuits are gluten-free, but not grain free.  Yes, I admit it, I cheat on the No Food Diet every once in a while.  Or more accurately, I’m in phase 2 (phase 1 being the strict No Food Diet), where I am trying to add some complex carbs, starchy veg and low-sugar fruits back into my diet slowly.  I followed the strict No Food Diet for about three months, felt much healthier, and lost about fifteen pounds, but now I’m trying to modify a bit, as it is difficult to maintain forever.

My wonderful husband, excited about the expansion of my diet, decided to make me breakfast.  We bought Arrowhead Mills Whole Grain Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Mix (brown rice flour, potato starch, tapioca starch, baking powder, fava bean flour, and corn starch) last night so he tried the recipe on the back of the box for biscuits.

Well, at least they were called biscuits.  To us, they seemed more like unsweetened shortbread.  They had that crumbly, dense texture that shortbread has and looked like cookies.  This could have been because we altered the recipe somewhat, but I have a sneaking suspicion they would have come out similarly regardless.

They were yummy, especially with soy margarine and sugar-free apricot jam, but still, I can’t say we’d make these again.  I’m still trying to keep my carb intake low and these have about 21.5 grams of carbs in each.  I’d rather have a big bowl of corn flakes with soy milk and bananas (at 45 g carbs, this is a special treat I only get once in a while).  If we did try this again, we would probably modify the recipe some more.  Maybe by adding an egg and some cocoa powder and making them into proper cookies.

We gave this 2/5 happy monkeys.

Ingredients:

1.25 cups baking mix

1/4 tsp sea salt (we used Kosher Salt)

2 tsp non-aluminum baking powder (we used aluminum)

1/4 cup canola oil

1/4 cup soy yogurt (we used Tofutti soy sour cream)

1/4 cup rice milk (we used soy milk)

1 tbsp honey (we substituted a little xylitol)

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Combine mix, salt and baking powder.  Add oil and cut in with pastry blender.  Add yogurt, rice drink and honey.  Stir with fork.  Turn dough onto surface dusted with flour mix and roll dough to coat.  Shape into ball, roll into 1/2 in thickness.  Cut with biscuit cutter, then place on greased cookie sheet and let set 5 minutes on warm oven top.  Back at 425 degrees for about 12 minutes or until slightly brown.

Leave a comment

Filed under 2/5 Happy Monkeys, Breakfast, Dairy-Free, Gluten-Free, Sugar-Free, Vegan, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

