Avocado Gazpacho

Avocado Gazpacho

It was really hot in our house yesterday and, as much as I wanted to make my favorite cauliflower-leek soup, I just couldn’t bear the thought of hot soup.  So, cold soup it was.  I pulled up a few different gazpacho recipes online but in the end I just winged it and created my own.

Ingredients:

– About 2.5 avocados (I was going to use 3 but one of them was going bad so I could only salvage half)

–  1 cucumber

– 1 red pepper

– 1/2 an onion

– 1 clove garlic

– 16 oz vegetable stock (homemade is best but I didn’t have any on hand)

– a few sprigs fresh basil

– juice of 1 lime

– a bunch of salt, fresh ground black pepper, and a liberal sprinkling of red pepper flakes (I didn’t have a chili)

Directions:

Roughly chop all the vegetables and basil and throw them in a bowl.  Add stock and lime juice. Using a stick blender, blend until everything is nicely pureed.   Season to taste with salt, pepper and red pepper flakes.  Chill for at least two hours before serving.

I gave this 3/5 happy monkeys but I think my husband gave it zero.  He usually will eat anything I make, saying he’s more lazy than he is picky, but this he just picked at until I ate his too.  Also, I may have been a little too liberal with the red pepper flakes because this sure had a kick to it.  Although the hot spice was a nice complement to the cool soup.

Leave a comment

Filed under 3/5 Happy Monkeys, Dairy-Free, Gluten-Free, Grain-Free, Lunch, Soup, Sugar-Free, Vegan, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

