Weekend Breakfast: Eggs & Broccoli!

Weekend Eggs and Broccoli

Breakfast was always my favorite meal of the day, with brunch as  a special treat.  The reason I liked both was simple:  there were way more vegetarian options that at lunch or dinner, especially at restaurants.  I had my pick of things to eat: cereal, oatmeal, omelets, pancakes, waffles, hash browns, and my favorite – veggie eggs benedict.  But it’s amazing how many breakfast items are made with milk.  They don’t necessarily need to be (soy milk works fantastically) but try telling that to the cooks at Waffle House!

Anyway, breakfast options have become pretty limited on this diet.  One of my favorite treats was my mom’s scrambled eggs with broccoli and white cheddar.  Well, I can’t have the white cheddar now but the rest of it is still pretty good.  So for a weekend treat, I scramble two eggs in olive oil with some onion and fresh broccoli, sprinkle liberally with salt and pepper, throw in some red pepper flakes and top the whole thing off with some flax seed oil (nutritious and delicious).

I’m not going to post a how-to recipe yet because I’m still experimenting with the best way to scramble eggs – low heat, high heat, etc.  Anyone have any recommendations?  For yesterday’s batch, I started out with low heat (on Mark Bittman’s advice), then didn’t like how slow and unevenly they were cooking, so turned it up high at the end.  Not a method I would necessarily recommend.  I’ll keep working at it and let you know.  Or if you already have the secret to making fantastic scrambled eggs, let me know!

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast, Dairy-Free, Gluten-Free, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

