Raw Persimmon Cheesecake with Pomegranate Coulis

I am really proud of this cheesecake – I think it might be the first raw persimmon cheesecake to hit the interwebs! I couldn’t find a recipe for raw persimmon cheesecake so I made my own based on Sweetly Raw’s Mandarin Orange Cheesecake on a Pecan Ginger Crust with a Cranberry Pomegranate Compote, and Candied Pecans. I give it a 4/5 Happy Monkeys.  The texture is spot on and it makes a nice, healthy treat.

Pecan Ginger Crust
from Sweetly Raw

Ingredients:
1 1/4 cup pecans
1/3 cup pitted, packed dates – finely chopped
1 tablespoon grated fresh ginger
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
Pinch of salt

Directions:
Grind all ingredients together in a food processor to create a dough. Press the dough into the bottom of an 8″ or 12″ spring form pan.

My notes: I loooved this crust. It definitely gets 5/5 Happy Monkeys. The ginger was to die for. I think I used 1/2 cup dates instead of a third because I misread it, but it was sweet and delicious like candy. I also soaked my pecans and that lead to a moist crust. It would probably be tastier if the pecans were dehydrated after soaking and before making the crust. Or of course, they could be thrown in without soaking, but in theory they wouldn’t be as healthy that way.

Persimmon Cheesecake Filling

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups fuyu persimmon puree
1 1/2 cups cashew (soaked)
Juice of 1 lemon (about 3 tablespoons lemon juice)
1 teaspoon packed lemon zest
1 teaspoon powdered vanilla bean
1/8 teaspoon himalayan salt
1/2 cup melted coconut oil
2 tablespoons melted cacao butter

For the persimmon puree, just wash your persimmons, pull off the top stem and blend them whole in the vita mix. Then add all the other ingredients except the oil and butter and blend until completely smooth and creamy. Add the oil/butter and blend briefly to incorporate. Pour the filling over the crust and chill in the fridge for 8-12 hours. You can cut it after a few hours but it does firm up and taste better if you wait the full 8-12 hours.

Next time: It’s pretty good, but it’s a little bland – could be sweeter and spicier. I didn’t use any sweetener to be extra healthy but maybe next time I would use a little. It is still good because the persimmons are really sweet, but it is a little blah. I would also add more lemon juice to give it more of that cheesecake zing. Also, I would make it spicy by adding ginger or cinnamon right into the filling and calling it Persimmon Spice Cheesecake. Also, I’d probably add a touch more cacao butter to make it even firmer. This is a good base but there is lots of room for improvement. I also think it would be a fantastic recipe base for pumpkin cheesecake (although I’m sure there are already a lot of raw pumpkin cheesecake recipes out there).

Pomegranate Coulis

Ingredients:*
1 cup pomegranate seeds
1 tsp chia seeds
1 tsp agave
1 tsp lemon juice

*Amounts are completely approximate. I did no measuring whatsoever (which definitely could have contributed to the downfall of this recipe.)

Directions:

Blend about half of the pomegranate seeds briefly, just to break them up a little. Add them to the rest of the ingredients. Stir and let sit so that the chia seeds can thicken it up.

My notes: I wanted to base this on a delicious blackberry coulis that I had before that was just made with blackberries marinated in lime juice and agave. However, it didn’t work really well. I overblended all of the pomegranate seeds and so it was too liquidy, and the chia seeds didn’t soak up as much liquid as I hoped they would. Also, pomegranate seeds don’t lend themselves well to blending a little because they are just so dang seedy. So far I think the yummiest thing I did with my pomegranate seeds was to juice them (in the vitamix and then strain them through cheesecloth). But that was a lot of work and about $5 for one small glass of extremely tasty juice. This coulis gets a 2/5 Happy Monkeys because even though the texture was off, it was still quite tasty.

To Serve:
Sprinkle the cheesecake with powdered ginger and cinnamon and top with the pomegranate coulis. Enjoy a healthy no-added sugar dessert or as a snack anytime! I particularly like it as a mid-afternoon pick me up.

1 Comment

Filed under 4/5 Happy Monkeys, Dairy-Free, Dessert, Gluten-Free, Grain-Free, Raw, Sauce/Dip, Snack, Sugar-Free, Vegan, Vegetarian

One response to “Raw Persimmon Cheesecake with Pomegranate Coulis

  1. This looks amazing! I worked at a vegan restaurant that made raw desserts and I loved them so much.

Leave a Reply

